My new role

I have recently started working at a new school, in a new role. It was a big step for me to leave a school I loved working at but I felt it was time for me to move on and challenge myself. I am thrilled to be working at Caludon Castle for many reasons. 

I am now in post working within their new staffing structure as an Assistant Principal Leader of Learning for English… This means I am ‘Second in department’ with a ‘Lead Practitoner’ role rolled into one, this is a step up from my post at SP as I have already had a massive input into developing the new KS4 curriculum. I envisage my role being very much a collaborative role with the Principal Leader of Learning and with the newly appointed Leaders of learning who are responsible for Ks3, transition and Ks5. I am heading up Ks4; it’s a busy time of year preparing for September so I am glad I started in June! 

It’s an exciting time, not only for me but for the school as a whole as there is now a very strong team of 16 like-minded colleagues all of whom have a key responsibility for leading learning within their Faculty. We make up the Learning and a teaching strategy team. Even though I have only been there for 3 weeks I feel like I have built great working relationships with colleagues and we are working collaboratively on all of the projects for developing the KS3&4 curriculum; life without levels and continuing to build on their positive learning environments and culture. 

Next year I know that I will be a lead coach, which will be a challenge for me but I am looking forward to seeing how I develop as a coach and also as a leader. I know that the school is the right place for me to develop so that I can keep working on being the best Practitoner I can be. 

Today I launched the ‘sharing English teaching ideas’ board in our faculty hub…  
 It’s thrilling working with a staff who are exciting about pedagogy and improving their skills. 

 I’ll keep you posted with how it’s going. 

Kathy πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ˜Š

Leave a comment